Spring Cleaning

Cleaning Supplies for Spring Cleaning

We can’t see it when we look outside our windows, but inside we can tell Spring is coming.  We’re beginning preparations for one of our favorite holidays of the year.  Passover is the first biblical holiday that we celebrated as a family, and it still holds a special place in our hearts.

We love the foods, the songs, the storytelling.  We love celebrating freedom.  We love rediscovering Jesus in so many of the symbols of the holiday.  Every year we know him better and love Him more as we celebrate this holiday that meant so much to him.

Then, there’s the cleaning part.

I can’t honestly say that I love cleaning.  But cleaning the house to get rid of any crumbs or dust that might contain  yeast is a big part of the preparation for Passover.  When we first started celebrating Passover, I used to use the excuse about not being under the law to explain my lack of zeal for cleaning.  I removed the yeast and  bread from my kitchen and called it good enough.

I was missing the point.

My house doesn’t have to be  meticulously clean to earn my salvation, or God’s love.  But that’s not what’s at stake here.  God’s command to clean our houses, and the whole celebration of Passover, is an invitation.  It’s an opportunity.

Once I began seeing it in this light, the whole thing became so life giving.  As I wiped and scrubbed and swept, I asked God, “What do you want to cleanse in my heart? What needs to be exposed? What are you getting rid of ?”.  Those times of cleaning became really meaningful to me, and they increased my sense of anticipation for the celebration to come.

We are coming out of a stale, dormant season and into a season of fresh growth.  I’m sensing God challenging me in so many ways, exposing so many areas that he wants to heal.  Whether or not you’ll be celebrating Passover, you have an opportunity to meet God in a new way during this time.

So now it’s your turn.  It isn’t about performance or judgement.  It’s about an invitation to meet with God.  Where do you most want to grow?  What areas of your heart need some spring cleaning?

3 comments

  1. Erik Kallio

    I really want to grow in my peace in all situations. I am so done with flying off the handle when something trips my trigger and losing the peace that Christ died to give me and that i and the world so desperately need. I also want to fast from sugar and dairy and get rid of an stow-a ways that are present and not desired. Lastly, I want to regularly have real Divine interactions with friends and not be reluctant to bring up prayer, worship, scripture because they might not be comfortable with it. Thanks for the reminder.

  2. Leia

    Great writing. I was just reading about the passover and thought the same thing. The love and hate thing with spring cleaning…

Leave a Reply

