It’s Not About You (Except When It Is)

English: Book of Knowledge

You know something.

Then,  it crystalizes in your brain.   It comes alive before your eyes.   And you KNOW it.

I have been in a pregnancy- induced, sleep- deprived fog for a week or so, but the few moments of clarity that I’ve had have been extremely clear.  It’s like leaving the eye doctor’s office wearing a better prescription.  Everything is sharper, the edges are crisper.

What’s interesting is how the clarity is born out of the fog.

Over the last few days and weeks, I’ve questioned what I really know.  As in,  what do I know not just because I read a book or took a class, but what do I know to the point that it’s a part of me, and I’m part of it.  What do I know on a level that I can teach in an authentic way, and make a serious contribution?  In one of those moments,  God reintroduced me to  principle that has been part of our spiritual stump speech for a while.  It goes something like this:

It’s not about you.

It’s all about you.

Yes, I know they seem to contradict each other, but these truths dovetail beautifully, and I’ll unpack that a bit over the next couple of weeks.

First off (and I hate to be the one to break this to you) sometimes, it really isn’t about you.  Here are some examples of  when and why it’s not about you.

  • If someone says,  “You’re making me feel_______”
  • If someone places blame on you, yet you feel no genuine conviction
  • If the reaction to something you say or do seems wildly out of proportion

In these and other similar situations, you’re not the source of the problem.  Other people may invest significant energy in convincing you that you are, and you may believe it.  But without knowing the specifics of your situation, I can say pretty confidently that you are not the true source of the problem.

I’ll explain why I believe this in my next post, but in the mean time I want to ask you:

What do you know?  What is so true for you that it’s part of who you are?  How can you share that?

One comment

Leave a Reply

