Why I Make Music

Why do I make music? The answer is pretty simple:

Psalm 40.

One night 17 years ago, my parents and a close friend interceded for my life while I lay dying half a world away. Our friend prayed Psalm 40 on my behalf:

I waited patiently for the LORD; and He inclined to me and heard my cry. He brought me up out of the pit of destruction, out of the miry clay, and He set my feet upon a rock making my footsteps firm.

And God answered their prayers: days later I was hit by a car.

It wasn’t the answer any of us expected, but that car was part of God’s rescue plan for me. As I flew through the air in those split seconds after the impact, the passage of time seemed to slow.  I had time to think, “I’m going to die.”  And I realized that I wanted to live.

I survived the car accident with no discernible injuries, and over the next several months He rescued me from the pit. But it wasn’t until two years later that he fulfilled another part of the prayer:

He put a new song in my mouth, a song of praise to our God;

Sometimes it would start with just an idea or a few words, and God would reveal the rest over a period of days or weeks. More often, complete songs (melody and lyrics) would almost spill out of my mouth.  I sang them into a pocket voice recorder and eventually shared them with a friend. He later became my husband and my partner in music making. After nearly a decade of delays, we completed our first recording with the help of a dear friend, who served as our producer. We hope that this will be the first of many recordings, because I’ve written dozens of songs that we’ve never performed.

This story isn’t over:

Many will see and fear and will trust in the LORD. 

We have yet to see this part of the psalm. In fact, we may not see it in our lifetimes. But our hope is that you will help us share the story, and become part of it. Anyone can respond to the biblical imperative

Sing a new song to the LORD.

There are many new songs yet to be sung before they merge into one song of praise before the throne.

Yours can be one of them.

microphone

4 comments

  1. Sarah

    Good start. I’m intrigued and want to know more about, “while I lay dying half a world away”. That was intentional, wasn’t it? I guess I’ll have to wait for the next installment.

Leave a Reply

